Bawumia, Alan, Poku face Oquaye-led NPP vetting committee today

Vice-President Mahamudu Bawumia and former trade minister Alan Kyerematen are among the first set of New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential aspirants, who will be vetted by the Mike Oquaye-led committee, which was inaugurated on Friday (30 June).

The vetting kicks off Monday 3 July 2023.

Energy expert Kwadwo Poku will complete the vetting exercise on the first day.

According to the schedule released by the vetting committee, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, a former NPP general secretary, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, the MP for Assin Central and Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko, former energy minister will have their turns on Tuesday (4 July).

Then on Wednesday, former MP and minister, Kofi Konadu Apraku, Owusu Afriyie Akoto, the immediate past agriculture minister and Joe Ghartey, MP and former attorney general, will take the seat before Francis Addai-Nimoh also a former MP completes the vetting on Thursday.

Members of the vetting committee are:

Rt. Rev. Hon. Prof. Mike Aaron Oquaye – Chairman

Hon. Kwasi Amoako Atta – Member

Mr. Stephen Abankwa Sekyere – Member

Hon. Osei Bonsu Amoah – Member

Lord Oblitey Commey – Member

Lawyer Frank Davies – Member

Mad. Rita Talata Asobayire – Member

Hon. Hackman Owusu-Agyeman – Member

Mad. Adelaide Ahwireng – Member

Osei Bonsu Amoah, the MP for Akuapem North Constituency and a member of the vetting committee, has been appointed the spokesperson. Evans Nimako, director of research and elections of the NPP has also been appointed as secretary for the committee


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button