Ken Agyapong, Kwabena Agyepong, Boakye Agyarko vetted – 3rd batch takes seat today

Three aspiring presidential candidates of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) yesterday went through vetting processes in the internal elections for the party’s presidential flagbearer position in an engagement with the Prof Mike Oquaye Committee.

The aspirants are the Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong; former General Secretary of the NPP; Kwabena Agyei Agyepong; and a former Minister of Energy, Boakye Agyarko.

The vetting process, conducted by a panel of seasoned party executives and elders, is aimed at assessing the qualifications, leadership abilities, and commitment of the aspirants to the party’s core principles and agenda. Before the Committee, each candidate is subjected rigorous questioning and scrutiny to determine their suitability for the highly esteemed position.

Reports gathered on grounds indicate that it focused on a range of key aspects, including the candidates’ vision for Ghana’s development, strategies for addressing pressing national issues, and ability to unite party members and foster cohesion. In addition, the panel closely evaluates the candidates’ policy proposals and their plans for economic growth, job creation, infrastructure development, as well as social protection policies.

Grounds reports also indicate that so far, the vetting process is being conducted in a fair and transparent manner, with each candidate given an equal opportunity to present their ideas and articulate their vision for the future of Ghana.

Today, Wednesday July 5, 2023, former MP and Minister of State, Kofi Konadu Apraku; Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, former Minister of Food and Agriculture; Joe Ghartey, Member of Parliament and former Attorney General, will take the seat before Francis Addai-Nimoh, also a former MP completes the vetting on tomorrow.

Job creation machinery

For Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, he has pledged to create job opportunities, and empower the country’s younger generation to tackle the growing issues of unemployment. He has recently said his government would heavily be a ‘job creation machinery’.

With Ghana’s youth unemployment rate remaining a pressing concern, Mr Agyapong acknowledged the need for immediate action. He emphasised his determination to tackle this issue head-on by implementing robust policies aimed at creating an enabling environment for entrepreneurship and attracting foreign investments.

Mr Agyapong said he would do a diligent job to make sure the NPP wins the 2024 general elections, if given the nod to lead the party.

Redemption mission

For Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, he has outlined his vision for a transformative approach to politics and governance in the country.

Mr Agyepong has declared that he is bringing on board an ambitious proposal for a ‘redemption mission’ aimed at creating a critical mass of public-spirited Ghanaians to fuel development.

He stressed the urgent need for a paradigm shift that would redefine the roles and responsibilities of those in power, emphasising the importance of public service and a deep commitment to the welfare of Ghanaians.

New leadership

However, Mr Boakye Agyarko said what he is bringing on board is transformative leadership that hinges on transparency, decisiveness and inclusiveness.

He also said he would prioritise all projects that were initiated since 1992 but were left unattended to, and complete them for the satisfaction of Ghanaians for them to know that promises made to them by the political class would be fulfilled.

In his view, his over 40 years unblemished record of serving the NPP makes him the best person to lead the ruling party to victory in the 2024 general election.

He believes that he is the best person to lead the party to that historic third consecutive victory in the 2024 general election.


Last week, the General Secretary of the NPP, Justin Kodua Frimpong, inaugurated the party’s vetting committee for the party’s presidential primary election with the charge to the members to uphold the party’s constitution and ensure a free, fair and transparent vetting process.

The National Steering Committee on behalf of the NPP’s National Council appointed the members of the committee in accordance with Article 10(3) (F) (ii) of the party’s constitution.

Members of the Vetting Committee are Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, Kwasi Amoako-Atta, Minister for Roads and Highways; Osei Bonsu Amoah, Minister of State at the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development; Stephen Abankwa Sekyere; Lord Oblitey Commey; Frank Davies; Rita Talata Asobayire; Hackman Owusu-Agyeman and Adelaide Ahwireng.

The party also appointed Evans Nimako, Director for Research and Elections of the party, as Secretary to the Vetting Committee, while Mr. O.B. Amoah acts as the Committee’s Spokesperson.

The NPP ended nominations on June 24, 2023, after ten aspirants successfully filed nomination papers, but one of the applicants for the flagbearership, Nana Oppong Odeneho, dropped out.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button