NPP national chairman rallies support for Yaw Anim in Kumawu by-election

The National Chairman of the governing New Patriotic Party(NPP), Stephen Ntim, has urged the people of Kumawu not to vote for any other candidate except the party’s candidate in the by-election, Ernest Yaw Anim to become the Member of Parliament for the area.

Mr Ntim, who is currently in the Kumawu constituency made the call as part of his vigorous campaign efforts for the NPP candidate ahead of the by-election slated for May 23, 2023.

He entreated electorates to offer their unflinching support Ernest Yaw Anim, saying “he is the only candidate that the party recognizes and supports, who must be voted for”.

Reports indicate that one of the independent candidates, Kwaku Duah, who chose to run independent against the deceased MP in 2020, is going round the constituency telling the constituents that he’s also an NPP member who they should vote to represent them in Parliament.

Vote Yaw Anim

But the party’s national chairman has reiterated that the NPP wholeheartedly supports and recognises the candidature of Ernest Yaw Anim, describing him as the person “deserving of sole outstanding vote merit”.

“The NPP knows only Ernest Yaw Kumi and he’s the one the party is presenting. Vote massively for him to become the MP. Don’t listen to any other candidate who claims to be NPP member. If the independent candidate claims to be a true NPP member, he wouldn’t have abandoned the party at this crucial period to pursue his parochial interest. Yaw Anim is the right man for the job who will serve you very well and the party will support him to bring you the needed development,” he assured.

Mr Ntim further described Yaw Anim as very hardworking, energetic, intelligent young politician and a unifier who will not disappoint the people of Kumawu if he should be given the opportunity to lead them.

The arrival of the NPP National Chairman in the Kumawu constituency has galvanized the grassroots of the party who are campaigning vigorously to ensure the party retains the parliamentary seat.

Accompanying him, were other National Executives, including Mr Danquah Smith-Butey, National 1st Vice Chairman; National 3rd Vice Chair, Alhaji Masawuud; Henry Nana Boakye, National Organizer, Dr Charles Dwamena, National Treasure; and host other top NPP members.

The Kumawu by-election comes off on the back of the death of the former MP of the area, Philip Basoah at the age of 53 at the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital on March 27.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button